Team India For ICC World Cup 2019 Announced

by Cricket Hive author 3.2K views

BCCI finally announced the 15-member Indian Cricket Team for World Cup 2019. As expected Virat Kohli will be leading the team in the United Kingdom from May 30, 2019. 

The Analysis
The team was announced on Monday. Whereas it gave an answer to the unending question of No. 4 ODI spot in the Indian cricket team, it disclosed how the selectors chose Dinesh Karthik over Rishabh Pant. 

The squad was announced by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Acting Honorary Secretary Amitabh Choudhary, with Chairman of Selectors MSK Prasad explaining the reasons for the inclusions. The side has five specialist batsmen, two wicket-keepers, three fast bowlers, three all-rounders, and two specialist spinners.

Regarding the surprise inclusion of the veteran Dinesh Karthik ahead of Rishabh Pant, Prasad explained, "The second wicketkeeper comes into play only if Mahi (Mahendra Singh Dhoni) is injured. We went ahead with Karthik because of his experience in big matches.”

He explained why Karthik was given importance, "Definitely a case where we debated (at) length. We all (agreed) that either Rishabh Pant or Dinesh Karthik will come in only when [Dhoni] is injured. In an important game, wicket keeping is also important. That's the reason we went with Dinesh Karthik," said Prasad.
While talking about Vijay Shankar, Prasad mentioned Tamil Nadu all-rounder Vijay Shankar made it for his "three-dimensional" qualities. He also suggested that Vijay Shankar will now bat at two-down.

Speaking about Rayudu's exclusion, Prasad said: "After the Champions Trophy (2017), we tried quite a few people in that position. We did give a few more chances to Rayudu. Vijay Shankar is three dimensional. We are looking at him at no. 4 to begin with. We also have Dinesh Karthik and Kedar Jadhav. It's not that anything that went against [Rayudu], it's that a few things went for [Shankar]."
Prasad further added, "To begin with KL [Rahul] will be reserve opener if the need arises the team management will take a call," he added.

The Squad
Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MSD (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami

Recommended for you

Cricket Hive © 2021. Moonglan Pvt. Ltd. All rights reserved