BCCI registers new SC-approved constitution

by Cricket Hive author 1K views

Board of Control for Cricket in India has registered the Supreme Court-approved [and modified] draft constitution with the Registrar of Societies of Tamil Nadu at Chennai.

"We thank the Honorable Supreme Court for their directions and are pleased to start the process today by the submission of the new constitution of the BCCI with the Tamil Nadu Registrar of Societies at Chennai. We are committed to implement the Supreme Court directive in its entirety," CoA chairman Vinod Rai said.

On August 9, the apex court instructed the Indian cricket board to register the new constitution within four weeks, after having relaxed few of the reforms. Most prominent of them all - the 'one state one vote' rule doesn't exist anymore, much to the relief of associations like Gujarat (Gujarat, Saurashtra and Baroda) and Maharashtra (Maharashtra, Mumbai and Vidarbha) who would've stood to lose power if the original set of recommendations were ratified. Even associations that wasn't a state - like Railways, Services, Universities - have heaved a sigh of relief.

The SC has also tweaked the recommendation regarding the cooling off period for the office bearers, now allowing them to serve two successive terms. The selection committee will also not be restricted to just three members as per the new constitution.

The task of getting all the state associations under the ambit of the recommendations began way back in January 2016, and is finally nearing its conclusion with all the BCCI member associations getting a 30-day period to conform to SC's judgement and comply with the constitution.

Selection panel increased to five members

The BCCI has also reinstated Jatin Paranjpe and Gagan Khoda in the selection panel. They were dropped from the panel after the Supreme Court made it mandatory for the selectors in January last year. The duo will now work with MSK Prasad, Devang Gandhi and Sarandeep Singh to pick the squad for the remaining two Tests in England.

In the women's selection panel, Anjali Pendharkar and Sudha Shah too have been reinstated.

Recommended for you

Cricket Hive © 2021. Moonglan Pvt. Ltd. All rights reserved