India in World Cup : 1975-2015

by Cricket Hive author 554 views

Prudential World Cup 1975

This was the first World Cup and India could defeat only East Africa. This was also India’s first ODI win. Sunil Gavaskar scored 36 not out off 174 balls.

Prudential World Cup 1979

The second World Cup saw India losing all three matches they played that included a loss even to the minnows Sri Lanka.

Prudential World Cup 1983

This World Cup is known as the shocker to the world cricket whereas for the Indian cricket it changed everything for betterment. Kapil’s India went to England with zero expectation. It turned out to be a magical journey as India emerged as a winner with just 17 wins in the first nine years. The frame of Kapil Dev holding the most desired trophy changed the fate of limited over cricket in India. 

Reliance World Cup 1987

This time the World Cup had a new sponsor and was named as Reliance World Cup 1987. The tournament was hosted in the subcontinent with India being the co-host. They won five out of seven matches they played and lost semi-final to England to end their journey.

Benson & Hedges World Cup 1992

This was a disaster for India as they could manage to win only two of eight matches. Led by Mohammad Azharuddin it was one of the worst World Cups for Indian cricket team. 

Wills World Cup 1996

Azharuddin’s Indian team lost to Australia and Sri Lanka in the group matches. India beat arch-rivals Pakistan in the quarterfinal and was defeated by Sri Lanka in the semi-final. 

ICC World Cup 1999

This World Cup saw India starting off slow and later taking the hopes high for the fans. The Taunton match against Sri Lanka saw Rahul Dravid and Sourav Ganguly creating historical moments. But India couldn’t make it to the semis and ended with the average outcome. 

ICC World Cup 2003

This was a dream run for Indian cricket team led by Sourav Ganguly. India won 10 matches out of 12 they played. They lost only twice in the tournament against Australi, once in the group stage and second time in the finale. It was an unfortunate loss for the time that fans were looking up to. Sachin Tendulkar won the Man-of-the-Series prize for his 673 runs in 11 matches.

ICC World Cup 2007

The team started off with lots of expectations but failed to live up to. Led by Rahul Dravid India lost against Bangladesh in their opening match. They had to win next two matches to keep their chase alive but they failed to win against Sri Lanka after thrashing the minnows Bermuda.

ICC World Cup 2011

India, this time was one of the favorites in front of the home crowd. Led by MS Dhoni the team did fulfill the expectations this time. They beat Bangladesh, tied with England, beat Ireland and Netherlands, lost to South Africa and beat West Indies and entered the knockouts. They beat the mighty Aussies in the semi-final followed by the win against Pakistan. Then the grand final was against Sri Lanka. India won the match and lifted the trophy after 28 years. 

ICC World Cup 2015

The last tournament was held in Australia and New Zealand. Dhoni’s team won seven matches in a row took India into the knock-outs. Then they lost to Australia to end their journey. 

Recommended for you

Cricket Hive © 2020. Moonglan Pvt. Ltd. All rights reserved